Deleting project data




CrunchCode saves all the informations, process data and recovery files
in a working directory with the name

"_CrunchCode\<Excel–file–name>",

which is located in the folder of each processed Excel file.

Example:
Project: D:\VBA\myproject.xlsm
CrunchCode folder: D:\VBA\_CrunchCode\myproject.xlsm\...

Under certain circumstances it may be necessary to delete such information:

– if the processing is completed and
  a restoration of the original state is no longer NECESSARY

– when a fatal error occured and
  therefore a further processing of the project is no POSSIBLE



With this dialog you can delete all data which generated or saved by CrunchCode.


Original statuses

Exported original modules of the project in text format (file type *.vbs).

These are created at the beginning of each processing.
They serve the increased security and for information
(used for example for the display of source positions in dialogs)

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project.


Final statuses

Exported processed modules of the project (file types *.bas, *.cls, *.frm).

These are stored after the completion of each processing in the working directory subfolder "Result".
They serve the increased security.

The file names correspond to the if necessary camouflaged module names.
These files can be imported directly within the VBA Editor.

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project,
but makes a perhaps additional manual import of the modules impossible.


Debugging support

Exported processed modules of the project (file type *.txt).

These are only excerpts of the processed (camouflaged) VBA modules.
They are created after each completion of the project and serve possibly necessary
comparisons between original state and processing outcome.

The file names correspond to the original module names.
These files can NOT be imported directly within the VBA Editor.

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project,
but makes a comparison between the original and processing state impossible.


Reports

Protocols and lists that CrunchCode creates during each analysis and processing (file type *.txt).

You can display this with

Start menu –> "Project..." –> "Reports"

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project.
However, you will lose all information about the last analysis and editing process.


Excel–Listings

Certain dialogues allow the export of the listed content into an Excel file
that you can delete with this function.

A deletion of this file does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project.
However, you will lose some information about the last analysis and editing process.


E–mail support data

It concerns ZIP archives that contain all the data, which were sent to the CrunchCode–support
(see start menu –> "Project..." –> "E–Mail support").

The storage of this data is used for subsequent verification of transmitted information,
or the repetition of an e–mail request.

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project.


Retranslation data

Retranslation information (file type *.vbs).

These are created when you enable the option

Start menu –> "CrunchCode options" –> "Generating a retranslation list"

They serve the simplified verification of the camouflaged source text (e.g. after runtine errors).

Using the retranslation function

Start menu –> "Project..." –> "Retranslation"

you can later create a text file for each finished VBA module,
whose structure is identical to that module, in which though
all code names have been replaced with the original name.

A deletion of these files does not affect the working ability of CrunchCode
or restoration of the project.
For a recovery of these data, you must process the respective project again
with enabled retranslation option.


Program options (*.cci–File, Registry)

CrunchCode stores all the processing settings for each VBA project.

– in a project data file (file type *.cci),
  which is created in the same folder where also the VBA project is:
Excel file: nnnn.xlsm
data file: nnnn_xlsm.cci

– in the Windows registry

This duplication is a safety feature.
Priority has the data file.
All here saved information will be written at the start of each processing
ALWAYS into the registry (perhaps there existing information will be overwritten).

Information from the registry will only be stored in the data file
if it has been previously deleted.

If BOTH sources are deleted, CrunchCode uses as from the next processing
for all options the respective defaults!


Backups (*.bak–Files)

Backup during project repair (file type *.bak).

Before repairing a VBA project CrunchCode creates a backup copy.
Thus, the initial status can be restored in case of a failed repair.

These backups can be deleted if the last repair was carried out successfully.


Completion data

Data for the completion of incomplete processing.

Before the final stages of processing of a VBA project
(the writing back of the results to the VBA modules)
saves CrunchCode a range of information in the working directory
into the subfolder "Crash".

Should the completion of the processing fail,
then CrunchCode can in most cases easily at the next start
complete the processing with help of this information

If the processing or an subsequent completion were successful,
this information is automatically deleted.

If it came in contrast to a error and still exist the information in the "Crash" folder,
then CrunchCode offers a completion with every opening of the respective VBA project.

However, this may be superfluous if the project was manually restored in the meantime
(e.g. by restoring an individual backups).

ONLY in this case, the completion information should be deleted.


Recovery data

Backup of the VBA project.

Before any processing CrunchCode makes a backup of the VBA project
and of all linked files.

Therefore a complete return to the original state is possible any time
(Start menu –> "Project..." –> "Recover").

ATTENTION!

THE BACKUP GUARANTEES THE INTEGRITY OF YOUR PROJECT.

DELETE THIS ONLY IF THE PROJECT IS COMPLETE AND ERROR–FREE PROCESSED
OR FOR OTHER REASONS A FURTHER PROCESSING IS NOT REQUIRED OR DESIRED!

IF YOU DO NOT HAVE CREATED YOUR OWN INDEPENDENT BACKUP,
THEN ENTAILS A DELETION THE TOTAL LOSS OF YOUR PROJECT!